Candid Moments of Lucidity

Daily Inspiration : Roger Molloy (Photographer)

leave a comment »

By: Roger Malloy

By: Roger Malloy

Roger Malloy’s photo entitled ‘No Grey In My Day’ is a great example of on-the-spot urban photography, taken with precision timing. As candid as a photograph could be, the rainbow light he captured shining on the pavement couldn’t be any more suited for the title and meaning of my blog. The candid moments of the day, when some things just hit you unexpectedly. A revelation. An internal eureka moment. When a light bulb flashes in your head. Where you find beauty and inspiration from the the mundaneness that surrounds you.

I first discovered this photo last year when I was approached by Roger, just off of Brick Lane, in East London, as he was selling his photographs for two quid each, to help him in buy more equipment. I’ve always had high respect for struggling artists. Pro-active ones at that. Won over by his honesty and my genuine appreciation for his work, I bought two photographs and donated an extra 5 quid. To which he received with a warm smile and humble handshake. I put one photo on my bedroom door and gave the other one as a present to a friend. The one on my bedroom door serves as a visual note to my myself every morning before I step out the door. That whatever is in-store for me in the upcoming day (especially London’s lovely weather) – I won’t let it get me down. A message that puts me in a right set of mind and alleviates any apprehensions I may have with the day ahead.

Check out his work on No Gray In My Day, and if ever you’re interested in seeing more of his work in person. Let me know, because I’d like to bring more sunshine to his days as well – as he has done with mine.

Written by Paulino

May 25, 2009 at 9:57 pm

Leave a comment